
STATE OF ALABAMA 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

201 MONROE STREET, SUITE 502 

MONTGOMERY, AL 36104 

 
PREMIUM FINANCE COMPANY APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

 
1. NAME OF COMPANY    

 

ADDRESS     

Number & Street 

MAIL ADDRESS    

(If different from above) 

 
TELEPHONE  E-MAIL   

 

2. How is company organized? Sole Proprietorship   Partnership   Corporation   

LLC   FEIN   

3. Names, addresses of residence, and titles of all officers: 
 

 

Name Title 
 

 

No. & Street City State Zip 
 

 

Name Title 
 

 

No. & Street City State Zip 
 

 

Name Title 
 

 

No. & Street City State Zip 

 
4. Have any of the officers named in No. 3 ever been convicted of a felony or of 

any crime involving moral turpitude?      .  If so, explain on a separate sheet 

of paper. 

 
5. Do  you  understand  that  all  records  of  the  company’s  premium  finance 

transactions must remain available for at least three years following the final 

entry for the inspection of the Commission of Insurance?     . 

 
6. Do you understand the cancellation procedure for contracts in default and the 

procedure for refunding unearned premiums?     

 

7. SERVICE CHARGES:  It is the responsibility of the lender to know the allowable 

charges and to keep these charges within the legal limits at all times.  (See 

Title 27-40-9, Code of Alabama, 1975.)  Do your charges comply with these 

provisions?                       . 

 

8. REBATES: Do you understand that pursuant to AL Code Section 27-40-16 a premium 

finance company shall not pay or offer an inducement to an insurance agent or 

his employee to place business with it?_   

Section?   

Are you in compliance with this 

 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

Revised 3/2016 



 
 

 
 
 

 
9. Attach to this application a copy of the Premium Finance Agreement used by your firm 

unless agreement is presently on file and there has been no change.  The law requires 

the following: 

 
A. Form must be in at least eight-point type. 

B. Dated and signed by insured or on his behalf. 
C. Name and business address of agent negotiating contract. 

D. Name, residence, and place of business of insured. 

E. Name and place of business of premium finance company. 
F. Full description of insurance contract and amount of 

premium. 

G. Total amount of premium. 

H. Amount of down payment. 

I. Principal balance. 

J. Amount of service charge. 

K. Balance payable by insured. 
L. Number of installments. 

M. Due date and period. 
 

Does your agreement comply with these requirements?    If not, you are required to 

file a complying agreement with this office within thirty (30) days. 

 

The annual license fee is $240.00.  All premium finance companies must post a $35,000 

surety bond. 

 
I, the undersigned, individually or severally as may appear, do swear that the above 

answers are true and correct concerning the operation of the above-named premium finance 

company and that no information on myself, the firm, or its officers has been withheld 

that would in any way affect the firm’s qualifications as set forth in this application. 

 
The Commissioner of Insurance, State of Alabama, is hereby appointed to receive service 

of legal process issued in connection with the applicant’s premium financing business in 

the State of Alabama. 

 
Sworn to and subscribed before                 SIGNATURES OF APPLICANTS 

Me this    

20  . 

day of     

 
Name Title 

 

NOTARY PUBLIC  
Name Title 

 

SEAL  
Name Title 

 

 

Name Title 

 
LICENSE EXPIRES SEPTEMBER 30 FOLLOWING DATE OF ISSUE.   THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE 

ATTACHED TO THIS APPLICATION UNLESS MATERIAL IS ON FILE WITH THE DEPARTMENT AND THERE HAS 

BEEN NO CHANGE. CHECK OFF. 

 

SURETY BOND    COPY OF FIRM’S PREMIUM FINANCE AGREEMENT    

 

LICENSE FEE    COPY OF FIRM’S DELINQUENT NOTICE, CANCELLATION NOTICE, 

INCLUDING LATE CHARGES    
 

RATE CHART    

 

 

 

PLEASE NOTE:  THE LICENSE FEE INCREASED TO $240.00 EFFECTIVE 4/1/2016. 


