
STATE OF ALABAMA                            RR-W 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

ANNUAL PREMIUM TAX STATEMENT – RISK RETENTION BUSINESS 
for the Year Ending December 31, ____________ 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

PENALTIES:    Any Company failing to file its Premium Tax Return (EVEN WHEN NO TAX IS DUE) or failing to pay such 
estimated taxes on a timely basis shall be subject to a penalty of $1,000 to $10,000, to be assessed by the Commissioner.   
 
Returns must be received by the due date to be accepted as timely filed.  Please use the following checklist to assure that all the necessary 
items are included with your Premium Tax Filing. 
 
( )  Supporting documentation for each credit taken on the reverse side should be e-mailed to premiumtax@insurance.alabama.gov. The        
      name of the company and the year must be stated in the subject line.   The Alabama Facilities Credit Worksheet must accompany this 
      Return if paying at a rate less than the 3.6% maximum. 
( )  Make checks payable to the: Alabama Department of Insurance.   
( )  Mail this Tax Return , the Check and Annual Statement  to:  
 
         POSTAL  SERVICE             COURIER  OR   EXPRESS SERVICE 

Alabama Department of Insurance    Alabama Department of Insurance 
 c/o Compass Bank         c/o Compass Bank 
 P. O. Box 830691      701 South 32nd Street 
 Birmingham, AL  35283-0691     Birmingham, AL  35233 
 
                          ________________________________________________________________________ 

     Name of Company   
 
   ______________________________________         ________________________________________________________________   
    Preparer’s Signature    Name and Title (Print)   
 
    Telephone No  _______________________________           E-Mail Address____________________________________________ 
 
 
 

      PREMIUM TAXES  
 
 

PREMIUM TAX DUE:    (reverse side, line 10)       RR  
 

 
     
 
 
STATE OF _______________________________________.  COUNTY OF _________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________, President and ____________________________________________Secretary 
 
of the __________________________________________________________________________________________Insurance Company 
being duly sworn, each for himself, deposes and says, that they are the above described officers of said Company and that the 
foregoing statement of business transacted during such year and showing the true status of same on December 31, of such year, is full 
and correct according to the best of their information, knowledge and belief, respectively. 
 
Subscribed & sworn before me this ___________________________ _______________________________________ President 
 
Day of _____________________, 20 ___________.    _______________________________________ Secretary 
 
My commission expires _____________________________________ ___________________________________  Notary Public 
 
 

--OVER— 
 
 
 

NAIC#: _____________________ 

$ 

mailto:premiumtax@insurance.alabama.gov


 
 

STATE OF ALABAMA                           RR-W 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

ANNUAL PREMIUM TAX STATEMENT – RISK RETENTION BUSINESS 
for the Year Ending December 31, ____________ 

 
NAME OF COMPANY__________________________________________________ 

 
      DIVIDENDS & RETURNS 
 
 1.  ** Property & multi-peril insurance  

 written in fire protection classes 9 and 10.        9N10--                                X     1.0%  =  $___________________ 
 
2.  **Mobile homes and low value dwelling policies 

 with a face value of $40,000 or less.     MHLD--                    X      1.0% =  $___________________ 
 
3.  All other business 
 (see instructions for rate)         AOB--          X   ______=  $___________________ 
 
4. GROSS PREMIUM TAX DUE:             $___________________ 
 
5. ***DEDUCTIONS: 
 

a) Ad valorem taxes paid on property owned & occupied as  
the insurer’s principal office in Alabama         $_______________________ 

b) Ad valorem taxes paid on property in Alabama at least 
50% occupied by insurer         $_______________________    

c) Ad valorem taxes paid directly or in the form of rent to  
a third-party landlord on the insurer’s offices in Alabama, 

  apportioned by the square foot area occupied by the insurer $_______________________         ADV---- 
              
 
 
 d) All assessments paid during the year to the Alabama Health Insurance Plan (AHIP)    AHIP----   
                                       
 

e) All examination expenses paid to the Alabama Commissioner  of Insurance    EXAM---    
 
     

f) 60% of Alabama franchise and privilege taxes paid             FT----- 
 
      
 g) 20% of Guaranty Fund Assessments for each of 5 years following the year of payment      GFA---  

 
 6. Total Deductions (total of lines 5a – 5g)                            Totded----    
  
 7. NET PREMIUM TAX DUE (line 4 less line 6)      $_________________________ 
 
 8. LESS: Quarterly Premium Tax Payments       $_________________________ 
 
 9. LESS: Prior Year Overpayment        $_________________________ 
 
10. PREMIUM TAX PAID (line 7 less lines 8 and 9)                  RR----  
 
 
**Line items 1 and 2 require supporting documentation.  A policy run, which can be obtained from the Company’s underwriting unit 
will suffice as documentation.*** Lines 5a – 5g require two forms of documentation.  If documentation is not included, the deduction 
will not be allowed.  All documentation must include a canceled check or verification of an EFT payment.    The second form of 
documentation may include a bill, an assessment, or a franchise tax return.           

NAIC #:______________ 

$______________________  
     Total 5a – 5c 

$______________________
 

$______________________
 

$______________________
 

$______________________ 

$______________________ 

$______________________
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